St William's College
5 College St, York, North Yorkshire, YO1 7JF? - 01904 557233

Link to Googlemaps

The origins of St William's College date back to the 15th century. King Henry VI first licensed a proposed college in 1457, interrupted by politics and battles of the Roses a community of 23 fellows was established under a renewed license granted by King Edward 1V in 1461 and building commenced in 1465. St William, William Fitzherbert, is York's native saint and great grandson of William the Conqueror. Over the centuries the building has been an ecclesiastical lodging, a private house - including a period in the ownership of the Earls of Carlisle, the celebrated builders of Castle Howard - and letting rooms, undergoing several developments and rebuilds. In 1902 the College returned to the York Diocesan Trust undergoing major restoration and conversion resulting in today's layout, held in trust under the Dean and Chapter of York. The college's rooms provide a unique setting in York for conferences, meetings, weddings and celebrations.


The College is located in the heart of York. There are many Hotels both in the city centre and just outside. Please refer this link for more information.