The Euro-TMCS II: Theory, Modelling and Computational Methods for Semiconductors conference will run from Wednesday, 7th to Friday, 9th December 2016 at Tyndall National Institute and University College Cork, Ireland.

The introductory day (7th December) is a training event intended specifically for PhD students and early career researchers, with high level lectures on the most used methodologies in the field. This will be followed by two days of contributed, poster and invited presentations.

A list of confirmed invited speakers include:

  • Thierry Amand (INSA Toulouse) "Exciton dynamics and spin-orbit effects in atomically thin TMDC and their alloys"
  • Patrick Rinke (Aalto University) "Charge transfer at oxide/organic interfaces"
  • Ivana Savic (Tyndall National Institute) "Modelling of the thermoelectric properties of materials near soft mode phase transitions"
  • Mark van Schilfgaarde (King's College London) "Hybrid Perovskites"
  • Yuh-Renn Wu (National Taiwan University) "Challenges in Optoelectronic Device Simulation"

A list of confirmed tutors include:

  • Matt Probert (University of York) "Plane-Wave DFT and LDA"
  • Ben Hourahine (University of Strathclyde) "DFT-Tight-Binding Theory"
  • Jacky Even (CNRS) "Modelling of halide perovskites"
  • Fabio Sacconi (TiberCAD) "Device Simulations"
  • Stefano Sanvito (Trinity College Dublin) "Non-equilibrium Green’s Function Methods"

Topics will include but are not limited to:

  • Density Functional Theory Calculations
  • Tight Binding, Pseudopotential and Effective Mass Models for Electronic Structure
  • Empirical Potential Methods for Calculation of Structural Properties
  • Multi-scale Approaches
  • Dilute Magnetic Semiconductors
  • 2-D systems
  • Photonic Structures
  • Optical and Transport Properties of Quantum Nanostructures including Colloidals and Nanotubes
  • Plasmonics
  • Electronic and Photonic Devices
  • System demands and applications

A Message from Conference Co-Chairs

In addition to the technical programme there will be ample opportunity to see Cork and its surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you to Cork.

Eoin O'Reilly     Stefan Schulz     Stanko Tomic
(Conference Co-Chairs)

For any further information, please contact Janine Galvin (janine.galvin@tyndall.ie)